Transfigured Night | KLASSIK underground

Dom Polski Centre Map
Fri 15 Jul
From $50.00

Transfigured Night | KLASSIK underground

KLASSIK underground kicks off its Australian debut with a journey into the expressive musical language of two 20th century influential Austrian radicals. Webern’s Langsamer Satz for string quartet leads us into Schoenberg’s monumental string sextet, Transfigured Night Op. 4, inspired by Richard Dehmel’s poem.

This exploration of transfiguration will feature visuals by Adelaide-based cinematographer and video artist Liam Somerville (CAPITAL WASTE).

Joining Tahlia Petrosian for KLASSIK underground for all three instalments are Melbourne Symphony Orchestra violinists Sophie Rowell and Matthew Tomkins, and Adelaide Symphony Orchestra cellist Simon Cobcroft. Adelaide Symphony Orchestra violist Justin Julian and former Australian String Quartet cellist Sharon Grigoryan will join the ensemble for the first concert.

KLASSIK underground is supported by Ulrike Klein AO.
Image credit: CAPITAL WASTE
"...combining classical music with modern video installations - KLASSIK underground started as an experiment which then became a way or rethinking new concert formats."
— Tahlia Petrosian, founder
Wheelchair Access


60 mins

Find times & tickets

1. Select a venue
2. Select a date
3. Select a session
Get tickets
* Price, timing and ticket availability are subject to change. Additional fees may apply.
Please visit the event venue website for more information on current COVID-19 restrictions and advice
Subscribe to Cityguide e-news: Stay in the loop with regular emails
Sign up

Download the
Cityguide app

Now available on mobile & tablet